Zoë Wicomb, Keith Jarrett, and A. Igoni Barrett are on the judging panel of the Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2021 announced on September 8, 2020.

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction in English in the regions of Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, the Caribbean, and the Pacific. Each of these winners are then eligible for the global prize. Previous winners in the Africa region have been Jekwu Anyaegbuna (2012), Julian Jackson (2013), Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi (2014), Lesley Nneka Arimah (2015), Faraaz Mahomed (2016), Akwaeke Emezi (2017), Efua Traoré (2018), Mbozi Haimbe (2019) and Innocent Chizaram Ilo (2020). Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi won the global prize in 2014.

The judging panel for the 2021 edition of the competition was announced yesterday with South African novelist and critic Zoë Wicomb as chair. Her fellow judges, drawn from the five regions of the Commonwealth, are Nigerian author A. Igoni Barrett (Africa), Bangladeshi writer and editor Khademul Islam (Asia), British poet and fiction writer Keith Jarrett (Canada and Europe), Jamaican environmental activist and author Diana McCaulay (Caribbean), and essayist and fiction writer Tina Makereti (Pacific).

Zoë Wicomb said, ‘I’m delighted to be Chair of the judges for the 2021 Commonwealth Short Story Prize, one of the most renowned literary competitions in the world with a reputation for unearthing original and thought-provoking stories from across the Commonwealth. I’m very much looking forward to reading the stories and working with my fellow judges to identify the best ones, before introducing them and the writers to the wider global audience.’

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is currently accepting entries until 1 November 2020. You can find out more about eligibility, rules, and the submission process by clicking here.

Good luck.