Awards Fiction Poetry Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe National Arts Merit Awards 2023 winners announced.

The winners of the Zimbabwe’s National Arts Merit Awards 2023 were announced in Harare on Saturday, February 25, 2023. Here are those in the literary arts categories.

The National Arts Merit Awards (NAMA Awards) is a set of annual awards granted by the National Arts Council of Zimbabwe in recognition of outstanding achievements in the arts and culture. The categories have differed over the years.

The finalists for the 2023 edition were announced on Monday, February 6 before the winners were unveiled at the Harare International Conference Centre on Saturday. The following were the winners in the literary categories;

First Creative Published Work

  • The Madman on First Street And Other Stories, David Chasumba

Outstanding Children’s Book

  • Sloba and the Chameleonaire, Costa Chayambuka

Outstanding Fiction Book

  • The Quality of Mercy, Siphiwe Gloria Ndlovu

Outstanding Poetry Book

  • Starfish Blossoms, Samantha R. Vazhure

Costa Chayambuka responded to the win with the message, “I brought it home folks!!”

Samantha R. Vazhure tweeted, “I’m overwhelmed with gratefulness & joy for the National Arts Merit Award for Outstanding Poetry Book 🎊🙏🏾🌸💗”

By James Murua

This blog is run by James Murua a Nairobi, Kenya based lover of books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.