Tell Your Own Story Awards 2020

The winners for Zambia’s Tell Your Own Story National Book Awards 2020 were announced at a ceremony in Lusaka, Zambia on June 29, 2020.

The Tell Your Own Story Literary Awards came from the UNZA Radio show “Tell Your Own Story” that covers Zambian literary activity in 2015. The awards, an initiative of Concept Developers Initiatives through its partnership with Unza Radio, were meant to facilitate the growth of the literary culture in Zambia. Since then the awards have featured dozens of authors, publishers, book reviewers and also institutions promoting reading and writing in Zambia. In 2018 writers like Ingrid Nayame, Joe Sakala and David Kashiki were crowned the best in Zambia. In 2019, Freeman Mwenge, Mweo Kondolo and other writers won in a raft of categories.

The competition this year is organised by Concept Developers Initiative (CDI) and the Zambian Association of Literacy (ZALIT) with support from African Agribusiness Network, Unza Radio, Gideon Robert University, and Resalu College.

The winners of the award for 2020 are;

Best Fiction: Mubanga Kalimamukwento, The Mourning Bird

Best Non-fiction: Mashebe I. Ngula, Be Phenomenal

Best Religious: Balewa Zyuulu, The I Am Factor

Best Motivation: Francis Mwamba, Making Your First K100.000

Best Upcoming: Jessica Kabondo, Brandy

Best Book of the Year: Mashebe I. Ngula, Be Phenomenal

Best Children’s Book: Aliness Phiri, Thabo

Best Creative Writing: Samuel Zulu, Irresistible Don’t Touch

Best Selling Book: Francis Mwamba, Making Your First K100.000

Best Young Writer: Salifyanji Simwanza: Chidera

Best Poetry: Reuben Phiri, Dream Like A Child

Honours Awards: Dr Godfrey Hamweela, Nacitumbi Haantobolo, Stephen Andrew Mpanshi.

Recognition Awards: Gabriel Chisanga- Financial Literacy Magazine Isaac Pomboloka-Limitless

Photo used in this story is courtesy of Benjamin Photography.