Yejide Kilanko

Yejide Kilanko is on the longlist for the Guernica Prize for Literary Fiction 2019 announced on August 6, 2019.

The Guernica Prize for Literary Fiction, started in 2018, seeks the best literary fiction novel that pushes the boundaries. The award is worth $1000 with the writer also getting a publishing contract with Guernica Editions. The first winner was Kevin Wilson for his novel An Idea About My Dead Uncle.

The process for the 2019 edition of the prize kicked off earlier in the year with April 30 being a deadline for entry. The longlist was announced on August 6 and those in the running for the prize are;

  • A Twitch In the Bones by Renee M Sgroi.
  • At Half-Light by Linda Walsh.
  • Drinking The Ocean by Saad Omar Khan.
  • Giantess by Lily Gontard.
  • Moldable Women by Yejide Kilanko.
  • My Dancing Days by Mary Frances Coady.
  • One Hundred Years of Kindling by Myrl Coulter.
  • The Golem On Kensington Market by Jerry Levy.
  • This Cleaving and This Burning by Andrew Wainwright.
  • Zulaikha by Lily Soltani.

Yejide Kilanko is not a new name to readers of this blog with her Etisalat Prize longlisted Daughters Who Walk This Path as well as sophomore offering Chasing Butterflies.

The shortlist for this prize will be announced on September 2 before the winner is revealed at a date yet to be announced.