Writivism Koffi Addo 2019 longlist

The longlists for the Writivism Short Story Prize 2019 and the Koffi Addo Creative Nonfiction Prize 2019 have been announced on March 25, 2019.

Writivism, the project of writing as activism, that works to build the capacity for writing on the continent was started in Kampala, Uganda in 2012. The initiative includes the Writivism Short Story Prize and the Koffi Addo Creative Nonfiction Prize that have become a good gauge of the writing coming out of the continent.

Writivism Short Story Prize

Writivism Short Story Prize 2018 longlist announced.

The Writivism Short Story Prize is the older of the two prizes showcasing some of the best fiction writing since 2013. Previous winners have been Mbogo Ireri (2018), Munachim Amah (2017), Acan Innocent (2016), Pemi Aguda (2015), Saaleha Idrees Bamjee (2014), and Anthea Paelo (2013).

The Writivism Short Story Prize longlist announced features twelve stories selected from 387 entries by a team of three judges chaired by Ugandan novelist and short story writer, Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi. The other judges are Zimbabwean writer and editor, Emmanuel Sigauke and Ghanaian publisher, blogger and activist, Kinna Likimani. Those who have been longlisted for the prize are;

  • Chiamaka Omireh
  • Frances Ogamba
  • Gladwell Pamba
  • Godwin Uche Uwadilachi
  • Ifeoma Nnewuihe
  • Onyango Olual
  • Peace Mbengei
  • Phillip Leteka
  • Precious Colette Kemigisha
  • Resoketswe Manenzhe
  • Tope
  • Vuyelwa Maluleke

Koffi Addo Creative Nonfiction Prize

Koffi Addo Prize for Creative Nonfiction 2018 longlist announced.

The Koffi Addo Creative Nonfiction Prize, administrated by the Writivism Literary Initiative and named after Ghanaian national Nana Koffi Addo, focuses on nonfiction. It has been won by Ghanaian S.Y Tetteh (2016), South African Charles King(2017), and Zambian Chisanga Mukuka (2018).

The longlist this year comprises of eight stories selected from 117 entries by a team of three judges chaired by Ghanaian novelist Ayesha Harruna Attah. The other judges are South African novelist, memoirist, poet and short story writer, Karen Jennings and Kenyan academic Dr Christopher Ouma. Those in the running for the prize are;

  • Abdulrahman ‘Abu Amirah’ Ndegwa
  • Charles Dorme Cooper
  • Eugene Yakubu
  • Frances Ogamba
  • Kanyinsola Olorunnisola
  • Nwankwo Ugochukwu Evans
  • Samuel Arum
  • Som Oluwatobi August Adedayo

The shortlist for the two prizes will be announced in due course before the winner is announced at the Writivism Festival 2019 which happens in Kampala, Uganda from August 15-17.