Writivism Short Story Prize 2018 longlist announced.

The Writivism Short Story Prize 2018 longlist was been announced on Tuesday, June 25, 2018. The longlist of ten features writers from Nigeria, Uganda, Kenya, Zambia, Ghana, and South Africa.

The Writivism Short Story Prize celebrates writers from the African continent of prose from the last year. The prize which was born on the back of the Writivism initiative in 2012 typically has winners going home with a US$500 cash prize and more literary goodies. Previous winners of the prize include Munachim Amah in 2017, Acan Innocent in 2016, Pemi Aguda in 2015, Saaleha Idrees Bamjee in 2014, and Anthea Paelo in 2013.

The Writivism Literary Initiative this year, sponsored by The Story Club Malawi, has announced the longlist of 10 stories selected from almost 500 entries by a team of three judges chaired by Shadreck Chikoti. The other judges are Emmanuel Sigauke and Beatrice Lamwaka. Those in the running for the prize are;

  1. Miracle Adebayo
  2. Eric Odong Balson
  3. Kakinda Maria Birungi
  4. Mbogo Ireri
  5. Obinna Jones
  6. Mali Kambandu
  7. Ada Nnadi
  8. Ivana Akotowaa Ofori
  9. Omphile Sharon
  10. Sainang Tsotetsi

The longlisted stories will be published by Black Letter Media in their annual anthology. The shortlist will be announced on Monday, July 8, 2018.