Gloria Mwanige
Gloria Mwanige
Gloria Mwanige

The Writivism Short Story Prize 2016 longlist has just been announced. The winner of the prize will be made at the Writivism Festival in August 2016.

The longlist for the Writivism Short Story Prize 2016 has been announced and it has twenty one of some of the brightest young African writers today. The list was selected by a judging panel comprising of Tsitsi Dangarembga who was the chair alongside Richard Ali Mutu, Sumayya Lee, Okwiri Oduor and Mamadou Diallo.

After weeks of reading and deliberating, those in the running for one of the hottest new prizes in African writing are;

  1. Laure Gnagbé Blédou, Jene suis pas rentree
  2. Idza Luhumyo, Decisive Moments
  3. Aito Osemegbe Joseph, The List
  4. Merdi Muintshe, Un Certain 36 Novembrre
  5. Mathyas Kouadio, La Voie De Son Coeur
  6. Megan Ross, Duiweltjie
  7. Acan Innocent Immaculate, Sun Down
  8. Doreen Anyango, Levels
  9. Gloria Mwaniga Odary, Boyi
  10. Praise Nabimanya, Free Fall
  11. Aïssa Tâ, Un Couple Qui En Dit Long
  12. Frances Ogamba, Subtle Defence
  13. Le K-Yann, Poison D’avril
  14. Bura-Bari Nwilo, Like Eyes Liquid With Hope
  15. Sese Yane, We Will Be Safe
  16. Noella Moshi, Possession
  17. Jude Mutuma, Grey Love
  18. Abu Amirah, The Swahilification Of Mutembei
  19. Acidri Malunga, The Story Not Told
  20. Catherine Shepherd, The Woman’s Way
  21. Farai Mudzingwa, A Native Metamorphosis

The winner of the prize will be announced at the Writivism Festival in August 2016. The winner will get a cash prize and is also likely to take part in a residency at the Stellenbosch University like last years winner Pemi Aguda. There shall also be many openings in World Literature as this prize has been making huge strides to be recognised. This year the prize will be both for English and French.