CILIP Carnegie Medal

There are many Writers of African descent among the nominees for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2022 announced on November 8, 2021.

The CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals are the UK’s oldest children’s book awards, recognising outstanding reading experiences created through writing and illustration in books for children and young people. The CILIP Carnegie Medal is awarded by children’s librarians for an outstanding book written in English for children and young people. The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal is awarded by children’s librarians for an outstanding book in terms of illustration for children and young people.

The writers of African descent in the running for the awards this year are;

  • Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé, Ace of Spades. Publisher: Usborne.
  • Akala, The Dark Lady. Publisher: Hodder Children’s Books
  • Malorie Blackman (author), Laura Barrett (illustrator), Blueblood. Publisher: Vintage Classics.
  • Jeffrey Boakye (author), Ngadi Smart(illustrator), Musical Truth. Publisher: Faber.
  • Kacen Callender, Felix Ever After. Publisher: Faber.
  • Tracy Deonn, Legendborn. Publisher: Simon & Schuster.
  • Namina Forna, The Gilded Ones. Publisher: Usborne.
  • Kereen Getten, When Life Gives You Mangoes. Publisher: Pushkin Children’s Books.
  • Rebecca Henry, The Sound of Everything. Publisher: Everything With Words.
  • Patrice Lawrence, Splinters of Sunshine. Publisher: Hodder Children’s Books.
  • Patrice Lawrence, Rat. Publisher: Oxford University Press.
  • Karl Nova, The Curious Case of Karl Nova. Publisher: Caboodle Books.
  • Angie Thomas, Concrete Rose. Publisher: Walker.
  • Clare Weze, The Lightning Catcher. Publisher: Bloomsbury.
  • Alex Wheatle, Cane Warriors. Publisher: Andersen Press.
  • Benjamin Zephaniah, Windrush Child. Publisher: Scholastic.
  • Ibi Zoboi and Yusuf Salaam, Punching the Air. Publisher: HarperCollins Children’s Books.

The Carnegie medal winners will be announced in 2022.