Writers of African descent featured on the longlists for the British Science Fiction Awards 2021 announced on January 22, 2022.

The British Science Fiction Awards, a production of the British Science Fiction Association, have been presented annually since 1970. The awards are voted on by members of the British Science Fiction Association and by the members of Eastercon, the national science fiction convention, held since 1955.

The longlists for work done in 2021 have been announced in the different categories. The following writers of African descent made the cut for the year;

Best Fiction for Young Readers

  • Lionheart Girl, by Yaba Badoe
  • Noor, by Nnedi Okorafor
  • Redemptor, by Jordan Ifueko
  • Stella’s Stellar Hair, by Yesenia Moises
  • The Boy with Wings, by Lenny Henry, Mark Buckingham 
  • The Gilded Ones, by Namina Forna

Best Novel

  • A Master of Djinn, by P. Djeli Clarke
  • Far From the Light of Heaven, by Tade Thompson
  • Gutter Child, by Jael Richardson
  • Remote Control, by Nnedi Okorofor
  • Requiem Moon, by C. T. Rwizi
  • Son of the Storm, by Suyi Davies Okungbowa
  • The Library of the Dead, by T.L. Huchu
  • The Upper World, by Femi Fadugba

Best Short Fiction

  • Dreamports, by Tlotlo Tsamaase
  • Flight, by Innocent Chizaram Ilo
  • If The Martians Have Magic, by P. Djeli Clark
  • O2 Arena, by Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki
  • The Abomination, by Nuzo Onoh
  • The Future God of Love, by Dilman Dila
  • The Tale of Jaja and Canti, by Tobi Ogundiran
  • The Walls of Benin City, by M. H. Ayinde

British Science Fiction Association members will have until February 21 to help choose the BSFA Awards shortlists for works published in 2021. The voting form is available to BSFA members here.