Awards Fiction Speculative Fiction United Kingdom

Writers of African descent on British Fantasy Awards 2021 shortlist.

Writers of African descent at the British Fantasy Awards 2021 announced on July 27, 2021.

The British Fantasy Awards are awarded annually by the British Fantasy Society since 1976. The current award categories are Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award), Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award), Best Novella, Best Short Story, Best Independent Press, Best Artist, Best Anthology, Best Collection, Best Comic/Graphic Novel, Best Non-Fiction, and Best Newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award), while the Karl Edward Wagner Award for “important contribution to the genre or the Society” is given at the discretion of a committee.

In 2020, there were several writers of African descent winners in Ta-Nehisi Coates, Ebony Elizabeth Thomas, Nisi Shawl, as well as the Fiyah magazine.

The shortlists for the 2021 awards in several categories were announced with writers of African descent making the cut. They were;

Best Anthology

Jurors: Abbi Shaw, Lauren McClelland, Caroline Oakley, Emma Varney, Ginger Lee Thomason

  • Dominion: An Anthology of Speculative Fiction from Africa and the African Diaspora, ed. Zelda Knight & Ekpeki Oghenechovwe Donald (Aurelia Leo)

Best Novella

Jurors: Timy Takács, Phillip Irving, Ellis Saxey, Kshoni Gunputh, Alasdair Stuart

  • Ring Shout, P. Djèlí Clark (Tordotcom)

Best Fantasy Novel (The Robert Holdstock Award)

Jurors: Aoife Roantree, Steven Poore, Sue York, S.D. Howarth, Kate Towner

  • The City We Became, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit)

The winners of the awards will be revealed at FantasyCon 2021 which happens on September 24-26, 2021.

By James Murua

This blog is run by James Murua a Nairobi, Kenya based lover of books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.