Awards Nigeria Speculative Fiction United States

World Fantasy Awards 2022 finalists announced.

The finalists for the World Fantasy Awards 2022 were announced on Wednesday, July 20, 2022. Here are the writers of African descent who made the list.

The World Fantasy Awards have been awarded annually for the best fantasy fiction published during the previous calendar year since 1975. It is organised and overseen by the World Fantasy Convention. Kacen Callender, Rivers Solomon, Nisi Shawl, Ebony Elizabeth Thomas, and Sheree Renée Thomas were finalists in 2020.

This year’s judges are C. S. E. Cooney, Julie Crisp, C.C. Finlay, Richard Kadrey, and Misha Stone. The finalists for the award were announced on June 20 and these are the writers of African descent among them;

Best Novel

  • A Master of Djinn, P. Djèlí Clark (Tordotcom; Orbit UK)

Best Short Fiction

  • The Failing Name, Eugen Bacon & Seb Doubinsky (Fantasy 8/21)
  • If the Martians Have Magic, P. Djèlí Clark (Uncanny 9-10/21)

Best Anthology

  • The Year’s Best African Speculative Fiction (2021), Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki, ed. (Jembefola)

P Djèlí Clark on learning of the recognition tweeted, “great slate to share a nomination with. congrats everyone.”

Eugene Bacon said, “Honoured! @sebdoubinsky and I are finalists #2022WorldFantasyAwards for ‘The Failing Name’.”

Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki said, “I’m a World Fantasy Award finalist with the 1st ever Year’s Best African Speculative Fiction anthology I edited & published. It just made me the 1st Black, African editor to be a World Fantasy Award finalist.”

The winners will be revealed at the World Fantasy Convention, scheduled for November 3-6, 2022 in New Orleans, Louisiana, USA.

By James Murua

This blog is run by James Murua a Nairobi, Kenya based lover of books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.