Women Poets’ Prize 2020

Olivia Douglass, Tjawangwa Dema, Dunni Abisayo, Tanatsei Gambura, Amina Jama, Warda Yassin, and Amara Amaryah are on the Women Poets’ Prize 2020 longlist announced on September 21, 2020.

The Rebecca Swift Foundation was set up in memory of Rebecca Swift, editor, novelist, diarist, poet, and founder and director of The Literary Consultancy. The Foundation provides support and creative professional development opportunities to women poets through the delivery of its biennial Women Poets’ Prize. The Prize, which is free to enter, aims to maximise vital creative space for women poets within a supported environment.

The prize this year is being judged by Malika Booker, Liz Berry, and Pascale Petit. This panel announced the longlist of those who are in the running for the prize and they are;

  • Dunni Abisayo
  • Shereen Akhtar
  • Josie Alford
  • Jane Ayres
  • Natalie Linh Bolderston
  • Sarah Cave
  • Beth Cochrane
  • Hannah Cooper-Smith
  • Ella Cunningham
  • Tjawangwa Dema
  • Alisha Dietzman
  • Olivia Douglass
  • Eve Ellis
  • Annie Fan
  • Tanatsei Gambura
  • Emily Harrison
  • Vicki Husband
  • Amina Jama
  • Cecilia Knapp
  • Charlotte Knight
  • Bryony Littlefair
  • Amelia Loulli
  • Cynthia Miller
  • Elizabeth O’Connor
  • Jeri Onitskansky
  • Laura Potts
  • Yvette Siegert
  • Warda Yassin
  • Amara Amaryah
  • Courtney Conrad

All 30 longlisted poets will now be granted a year’s free access to The Literary Consultancy’s Being A Writer platform, which has been designed to support creative practice at a self-led pace.

The shortlist of nine will be announced on Friday, October 2, 2020 and the winner will be revealed in early November.