Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature 2018

The Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature in Africa, administrated by the Lumina Foundation, has announced a call for submissions for the Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature in Africa 2019.

The Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature in Africa is a pan-African writing prize worth US$5,000 awarded biennially to the best literary work produced by an African. The prize, set up in 2015 by the Lumina Foundation in honour of Africa’s first Nobel Laureate in literature Wole Soyinka, revolves around fiction, poetry, and drama. Previous winners have been Sefi Atta (2006), Nnedi Okorafor (2008), Kopano Matlwa and Wale Okediran (2010), Sifiso Mzobe (2012), Akin Bello (2014) as well as Tanure Ojaide and Harriet Anena (2018).

The call out for this year’s edition of the prize has been made by its administrators with the focus this time around is fiction. According to the Development Policy Advisor for the Foundation, Ivor Agyeman-Duah, only published novels by an author of African descent will be eligible for this prize. Submission should be ten copies of each work with the author’s résumé and coloured photo (portrait) as well as the publisher’s full contact details which include emails and telephone numbers. Only Novels published in 2016, 2017 and 2018 may be entered for this prize.

All entries should be sent to The Lumina Foundation, Blue House. No 19 Unilag Road, Akoka, Yaba Lagos, Nigeria. For further information please visit www.theluminafoundation.com.

Entries close on May 31, 2019.