Awards Fiction Nonfiction Poetry South Africa

Winners at South African literary awards 2015 announced

Zukiswa Wanner
Zukiswa Wanner

The best writers in South Africa this year were feted at the South African literary awards 2015 on Saturday night. The event was a gala event at the Tshwane Events Centre on 7th November.

Writers in different categories including first time published writer, for literary translation, poetry, creative non fiction and more. The full list of winners includes;

  • First Time Published Author Award: Carol Campbell, My Children Have Faces
  • K Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award: Zukiswa Wanner, London – Cape Town – Joburg
  • Literary Translators Award: Karen Press, Mede-wete and Synapse
  • Poetry Award (the award shared by all three nominees)
    Charl-Pierre Naude (Afrikaans), Al die lifelike dade
    Mangaliso Buzani (isiXhosa), Ndisabhala Imibongo
    Bishop MT Makobe (Sepedi), Tsa Ngweding wa Letopanta
  • Creative Non-Fiction Award: Edwin Cameron, Justice: A Personal Account
  • Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award: Abraham H de Vries (Afrikaans), Maar wie snoei die rose in die nag?
  • Literary Posthumous Awards: RRR Dhlomo and HIE Dhlomo
  • Lifetime Achievement Literary Awards: Antjie Krog, Achmat Dangor, Michele Magwood

3 replies on “Winners at South African literary awards 2015 announced”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.