L.A. Times Book Prizes

The finalists for the L.A. Times Book Prizes 2022 were announced on Wednesday, February 23, 2022. Here are the writers of African descent on the list.

The Los Angeles Times Book Prizes were founded in 1980 by Art Seidenbaum, a Los Angeles Times book editor from 1978 to 1985. They are awarded annually in Best Biography, Best Current Interest winner, Art Seidenbaum Award for First Fiction, Best Graphic Novel/Comics, Best History, Best mystery/thriller, Best Poetry, Best Science & Technology, and the Ray Bradbury Prize. Namwali Serpell and Marlon James won in their categories in 2020.

On February 23, the finalists for 2022 were revealed with seven writers of African descent making the cut. Here are those still in the running;


  • In the Company of Men, Véronique Tadjo

Art Seidenbaum Award for First Fiction

  • Assembly, Natasha Brown


  • African Europeans: An Untold History, Olivette Otele


  • Razorblade Tears, S.A. Cosby


  • Master Suffering, CM Burroughs

Science and technology

  • The Disordered Cosmos, Chanda Prescod-Weinstein

Ray Bradbury Prize for Science Fiction, Fantasy & Speculative Fiction

  • Sorrowland, Rivers Solomon

The winners will be announced at USC’s Bovard Auditorium on April 22, the day before the Los Angeles Times Festival of Books kicks off its first in-person event since the beginning of the pandemic.