Tsitsi Dangarembga to kick-off James Murua Literary LiveStream on March 24

Tsitsi Dangarembga joins a panel that includes Volha Hapeyeva, and Ralf Nestmeyer as the James Murua Literary LiveStream returns on Wednesday, March 24, 2021, at 18:00 GMT/ 19:00 WAT/ 20:00 CAT/ 21:00 EAT. You can join the stream, brought to you in cooperation with the Frankfurter Buchmesse with financial support from the German Federal Foreign Office, on Facebook, YouTube, or Twitter.

In 2020, we introduced the James Murua Literary LiveStream to shine a light on the African literary ecosystem and ways to make it better. Previous guests to the stream have been Abubakar Adam Ibrahim, Maaza Mengiste, and Antje Rávik Strubel; Ondjaki and Philipp Khabo Koepsell; Mariette Tchamda Mbunpi and Annette Michael; as well as Nyana Kakoma and Mariela Nagle; and Bisi Adjapon and Zoë Beck. The latter events were brought to you in cooperation with Frankfurter Buchmesse with financial support from the German Federal Foreign Office.

The James Murua Literary LiveStream returns this coming Wednesday, March 24 with the theme “writers at risk.” Suppression of speech is probably as old as speech itself, and this troubling tradition of silencing uncomfortable voices is still with us in the 21st century. The reasons why it happens are as varied as the methods used to do it.

Tsitsi Dangarembga (Zimbabwe) and Volha Hapeyeva (Belarus) can both attest from their own experience, and that of other authors in their native countries and beyond, to the difficulties and dangers faced by writers who challenge traditions and power structures. The third guest is Ralf Nestmeyer, vice-president of PEN Germany, who describes the assistance and solidarity that this international organisation and its Writers-in-Exile and Writers-at-Risk-Programme are able to offer.

Join us on the LiveStream at 18:00 GMT/ 19:00 WAT/ 20:00 CAT/ 21:00 EAT. If you want to interact with them, you can join the stream on Facebook, YouTube, or Twitter.

3 Replies to “Tsitsi Dangarembga to kick-off James Murua Literary LiveStream on March 24”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.