Awards Fiction Nigeria

Toyin Falola Prize 2022 longlist announced.

The ten-writer longlist for the Toyin Falola Prize 2022 was announced on Monday, October 24, 2022.

The Toyin Fálọlá Prize is an award from Nigerian-based Lunaris aimed at honouring distinguished African scholar and foremost historian, Prof Toyin Fálọlá, whose contributions to the field of African history and culture have continued to place Africa on the map and accord it its deserved recognition. It honours his endeavours and contributions to the advancement of African cultures, peoples, myths, and histories. Previous winners of the award set up in 2020 have been Fayssal Bensalah and Tshepiso Mabula.

The 2022 cycle of the prize with the theme of “Freedom” judged by Karen Jennings and Fayssal Bensalah is here with the announcement of the longlist. Those in the running and their stories are;

  • Amadi on the Concrete, Jarred Thompson
  • Arewa Boys, Abdulrahim Hussani
  • Bury My Body, Ani Kayode Somtochukwu
  • Caged Birds, Sakinah Musa
  • Heatwave, Mia Uys
  • Salem, Alex Kadiri
  • They Call Me Trouble, Fatima Okkhuosami
  • Time Stands Still, Radha Opubor
  • TriniBoys, Daniel Ogba
  • Truthing Through, Babalola Joseph

Fayssal Bensalah said, “The stories are dauntless. Their writers are clearly observant and actively and personally concerned with the issues of their societies. The stories prove that Africa’s passion for telling stories remains wild, salient, and always growing. It’s a flame that’s constantly being fueled by many new writers who truly care about the present and future of their continent. The submitted stories speak loudly for this as they diagnose futuristic concerns and tackle continental themes. What’s interesting is that the stories are hopeful and optimistic. They shift away from the negative representations of Africa and focus on her beauties instead. They also try to imagine a ‘futuristic Africa’ and assert that the continent has all the resources to make it happen.”

The shortlist and the winner will be announced later in the year.

By James Murua

This blog is run by James Murua a Nairobi, Kenya based lover of books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.