The shortlist for the Toyin Falola Prize 2021 was announced today, October 14, 2021.

The Toyin Fálọlá Prize is an award from Nigerian-based Lunaris aimed at honouring distinguished African scholar and foremost historian, Prof Toyin Fálọlá, whose contributions to the field of African history and culture have continued to place Africa on the map and accord it its deserved recognition. The prize honours his endeavours and contributions to the advancement of African cultures, peoples, myths, and histories. The first winner of the award set up in 2020 was Fayssal Bensalah.

The award organisers announced the 11-story longlist from the 495 eligible submissions, 11 stories on September 20. The shortlist announced today features the following stories;

  1. Superposition, Justin Clement (Nigeria)
  2. Iphopho Le Vezandlebe, Tshepiso Mabula (South Africa)
  3. Sinmot, Blessing Nwodo (Nigeria)
  4. Should have Listened to Mother, Mandisi Nkomo (South Africa)
  5. Hunger for Crystals, Ernestine-Vera Kabushemeye (Burundi)
  6. Eavesdroppers, Mary-Ann Egbudom (Nigeria)

Judging these texts and presenting the winner, in due course, will be Nerine Dorman and Akwasi Aidoo.