Awards Fiction Ghana Kenya Nigeria South Africa

Toyin Falola Prize 2021 longlist announced.

The longlist for the Toyin Falola Prize 2021 was announced on September 20, 2021.

The Toyin Fálọlá Prize is an award from Nigerian-based Lunaris aimed at honouring distinguished African scholar and foremost historian, Prof Toyin Fálọlá, whose contributions to the field of African history and culture have continued to place Africa on the map and accord it its deserved recognition. The prize honours his endeavours and contributions to the advancement of African cultures, peoples, myths, and histories. The first winner of the award set up in 2020 was Fayssal Bensalah.

The award organisers have announced that they have made the necessary cuts to the many entries that they received from all over the continent. From the 495 eligible submissions, 11 stories were longlisted for the prize. They are;

1) Hold Day – Nana Adwoa Tweneboah Amponsah-Mensah /Ghana

2) Iphopho Le Vezandlebe – Tshepiso Mabula / South Africa

3) Scars Without a Wound – David Okigbo / Nigeria

4) Breaking the System – Adewunmi Aboyade / Nigeria

5) Sinmot – Blessing Nwodo / Nigeria

6) Inside the Eye – Racquel Anyango / Kenya

7) Eavesdroppers – Mary Ann Egbudom / Nigeria

8) Should have Listened to Mother – Mandisi Nkomo / South Africa

9) Lotanna Rising – Michael Nwanolue / Nigeria

10) Hunger for Crystal – Ernestine-Vera Kabushemeye / Kenya

11) Superposition – Justin Clement / Nigeria

Judging these texts and presenting the shortlist and winner, in due course, will be Nerine Dorman and Akwasi Aidoo.

By James Murua

This blog is run by James Murua a Nairobi, Kenya based lover of books.

3 replies on “Toyin Falola Prize 2021 longlist announced.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.