Algeria Eritrea Malawi Morocco Namibia Nigeria Residencies South Africa Zimbabwe

Meet the African writers for the Iowa International Writing Program 2019.

Batsirai Chigama, Shadreck Chikoti, Soukaina Habiballah, Tade Ipadeola, Amira-Géhanne Khalfallah, Samuel Menghesteab, Martha Mukaiwa, and Yamkela Tywakadi are the African writers to take part in the Iowa International Writing Program 2019. The University of Iowa International Writing Program prides itself as being the oldest and largest multinational writing residency in the world. Started in 1967, […]

Awards Fiction Nigeria

Tade Ipadeola wins Africa’s richest literary prize

The richest literary prize on the continent, despite all you may have heard, is the Nigeria Prize for Literature. This prize, sponsored by the Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas (NLNG), see one writer go home with a cool US$100,000. For comparison purposes, the Caine Prize winner goes home with UK pounds10,000 and the Etisalat Winner will […]