Academia Awards Ghana

Nii Ayikwei Parkes, Panashe Chigumadzi among W. E. B. Du Bois Research Institute Fellows

The W. E. B. Du Bois Research Institute Fellows 2022, including Nii Ayikwei Parkes and Panashe Chigumadzi, were announced on May 5, 2022. The W. E. B. Du Bois Research Institute is part of the Hutchins Center for African & African American Research located at Harvard University. Its main work is in the provision of […]

Ghana Launches New Books Poetry

Nii Ayikwei Parkes launches new poetry collection “The Geez.”

Nii Ayikwei Parkes launched his newest poetry collection The Geez, published by Peepal Press, on October 15, 2020. His discussant on the day was Toni Stuart. Nii Ayikwei Parkes is the author of the hybrid novel, Tail of the Blue Bird (2009) and the poetry collection The Makings of You (2010). He also writes for […]

Afrolit Sans Frontieres Festivals Ghana

Nii Ayikwei Parkes at Afrolit Sans Frontières Season 2.

Nii Ayikwei Parkes kicked off day six of Season 2 of Afrolit Sans Frontières from London, UK on Saturday, April 25, 2020. He was hosted by Asiedu Benneh. Afrolit Sans Frontières, a new initiative by and for writers of African origin, was started in March as a result of the Covid-19 pandemic international lockdown. Like […]

Funding Ghana

Nii Ayikwei Parkes’ Flipped Eye Publishing receives UK Funding.

Flipped Eye Publishing, founded by Nii Ayikwei Parkes, was announced a recipient a grant by Arts Council England as part of a programme to diversify the arts and cultural sector on January 23, 2020. The Arts Council England has announced a new funding round to specifically address the under-representation of people with disabilities and those […]

Awards Fiction Ghana South Africa

Nii Ayikwei Parkes, Mohale Mashigo to judge Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2020.

Nii Ayikwei Parkes and Mohale Mashigo are on the judging panel of the Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2020 announced today, September 3, 2019. The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction in English in the regions of Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, the Caribbean, and the Pacific. Each […]

Fiction Ghana New Books

How to support Nii Ayikwei Parkes newest book “The City Will Love You.”

Nii Ayikwei Parkes’ newest book, a short story collection The City Will Love You, is almost here. You can lend your hand to get this book out to the reading public. Nii Ayikwei Parkes isn’t a new name in the world of African writing. His début novel, Tail of the Blue Bird (our review), was […]

Ghana Long Reads

Long Read: Nii Ayikwei Parkes keynote address at the Bare Lit Festival 2018.

Nii Ayikwei Parkes was the keynote speaker at the Bare Lit Festival 2018 giving the address at The Albany, London UK on May 27, 2018. We share the text here in full courtesy of the speaker. Let me start by inviting you to imagine: what would people who just campaign for Greenpeace be called if […]

Education Ghana Literary Magazines Nigeria

Gyara Journal: Meet the editors of the continent’s newest literary space.

Gyara is a new literary journal for you to submit your work. The new literary space is looking for creative non-fiction, book reviews, memoirs, essays and interviews while also training editors to manage it. A few months ago whilst at the Mboka Festival 2018, this blogger had a chat with poet, novelist, publisher Nii Ayikwei […]

Festivals Ghana

Pa Gya! A Literary Festival In Accra for October 2017

The Pa Gya! Literary Festival is set to happen at the Goethe Institut in Accra, Ghana from October 20-22, 2017. It’s been a busy time in the Ghana literary scene in recent times with many things happening from festivals like the Ghana International Book Fair and the Nkabom Literary Festival as well as the Ghana […]

Nigeria Transition

Tributes flood in for legendary Nigerian author Buchi Emecheta

Buchi Emecheta the author of numerous novels passed away in London, UK on January 25th 2017. Tributes from all over the African literary community have been shared on social media. Florence Onyebuchi “Buchi” Emecheta OBE (21 July 1944 – 25 January 2017) was a Nigerian novelist, based in Britain since 1960,[1] who had also written […]

Awards Ghana

The Abena Korantemaa Writivism Prize for Oral History 2016

The Abena Korantemaa Writivism Prize for Oral History is an annual award for Oral History by emerging African writers and storytellers resident in Ghana administered by the Center for African Cultural Excellence (CACE).  Abena Korantemaa, 100 years old, is regarded as the matriarch of her family clan, she is popularly known as ‘Maa Fri’. She […]


Mildred Barya wins Sylt Foundation African Writer´s Residency Award 2015

It official. Ugandan writer and poet Mildred Barya has been selected as the 2015 winner of the Sylt Foundation African Writer´s Residency Award. The residency includes a two months stay in a subsidized apartment on the German island of Sylt. She follows in the illustrious steps of folks like Nii Ayikwei Parkes (2014) and Chika […]


African Literary Writer’s Residency Award call for applications

I remember the joy of hearing that Nii Ayikwei Parkes having being selected for Sylt Foundation Residency in July last year. He went and did his residency and we hope to see his sojourn bearing fruit (I work in Kenyan media and I have to use “bearing fruit” phrase in my reports; its part of […]

Awards Benin Ghana Translation

Nii Ayikwei Parkes and Sika Fakambi win Prix Laure Bataillon

The Prix Laure Bataillon is an award that recognizes the best foreign work translated into French in a year. The winners of this year’s award are Nii Ayikwei Parkes for his book Tail of the Blue Bird (Notre Quelque Part) (our review here) and his translator Sika Fakambi. It was a brilliant year for Parkes […]

Awards Childrens literature Ghana

Meshack Asare wins prestigious Prize for children’s literature

Ghanaian Meshack Asare is the winner of this years 2015 NSK Neustadt Prize for Children’s Literature. The award was announced by World Literature Today, the award-winning magazine of international literature and culture on Friday. The Neustadt International Prize for Literature awarded every two years recognizes great accomplishments in the world of children’s storytelling. A check […]