Awards Kenya Nigeria Somalia South Africa Zimbabwe

Tope Folarin makes Caine Prize 2016 shortlist (We need new Caines)

Caine Prize winner 2013 Tope Folarin made the Caine Prize 2016 shortlist that was announced earlier today. The Caine Prize shortlist 2016 was announced today and those who are in the running for this prize are; Abdul Adan (Somalia/Kenya) for The Lifebloom Gift published in The Gonjon Pin and Other Stories: The Caine Prize for African […]


Caine Prize 2016 judging panel announced

The Caine Prize for African Writing judging panel has been announced today. The panel of judges will be chaired by the distinguished author and broadcaster Delia Jarrett-Macauley. She will be joined by the acclaimed film, television and voice actor, Adjoa Andoh; the writer and founding member of the Nairobi based writers’ collective, Storymoja, and founder […]

Awards Festivals Kenya Nigeria

Cat Hellisen wins Short Story Day Africa Prize 2015 #AkeFest2015

Cat Hellisen is the winner of the Short Story Day Africa Prize for Short Fiction 2015. The winner has just been announced at the ongoing Ake Art & Book Festival here in Abeokuta, Nigeria by prize judge Abubakar Adam Ibrahim. The South African writer who won over the judging panel with her story “The Worme […]

Anthologies Botswana Ghana Kenya Malawi Nigeria Rwanda Sierra Leone

Short Story Day Africa 2015 longlist announced

Short Story Day Africa has announced the longlist of this year’s anthology. The stories from writers from across the continent explored the theme “Water” in interesting and unexpected ways, and both the readers and the SSDA team and editors felt the collection to be exceptional in scope and skill. The twenty one stories will now […]

Anthologies Awards Kenya Nigeria South Africa

Short Story Day announce 2015 anthology judges

A few days ago I spoke about the call out made for the new Short Story Day anthology for 2015 that will focus on Water. More details have emerged about this project which is sponsored by Worldreader, and The organisers of the event have now announced the judges for those who submit their work […]