Awards Fiction Poetry United Kingdom

Writers of African descent on UK’s Costa Book Awards 2021 shortlists.

Nadifa Mohamed, Caleb Azumah Nelson, Raymond Antrobus, and Kayo Chingonyi, are on the shortlists for the Costa Book Awards announced on November 23, 2021 The Costa Book Awards are literary awards recognising English-language books by writers based in Britain and Ireland given annually since 1971. They were known as the Whitbread Book Awards until 2006 […]

Awards Poetry United Kingdom United States

Writers of African descent on T.S. Eliot Prize 2021 shortlist

Raymond Antrobus, Kayo Chingonyi, and Kevin Young are on the shortlist for the T.S. Eliot Prize 2021 announced on October 14, 2021. The T. S. Eliot Prize for Poetry was inaugurated to celebrate the UK Poetry Book Society’s 40th birthday and honour its founding poet in 1993. T.S. Eliot, full name Thomas Stearns Eliot had […]

Afrolit Sans Frontieres Festivals Poetry United Kingdom Zambia

Kayo Chingonyi at Afrolit Sans Frontières Season 5.

Kayo Chingonyi featured at Afrolit Sans Frontières Season 5 from Leeds, UK on Wednesday, July 29, 2020. He was hosted by Remy Ngamije. Afrolit Sans Frontières, a virtual literary festival for writers of African origin, was founded by author and publisher Zukiswa Wanner as a result of the Covid-19 pandemic international lockdowns. The festival format […]

Awards Egypt Nigeria South Africa Zambia

Africans feature on UK Society of Authors’ Awards 2018 Shortlist.

Society of Authors’ Awards Shortlist 2018 features four African nationals. The four are Anietie Isong, Masande Ntshanga, Kayo Chingonyi, and Omar Robert Hamilton. The Society of Authors’ Awards is the UK’s biggest literary prize fund celebrating poetry, fiction and non-fiction. Previous winners of the awards are Nadifa Mohamed, Noviolet Bulawayo, Helen Oyeyemi, Zadie Smith, and […]

Awards Poetry Zambia

Kayo Chingonyi is Dylan Thomas Prize 2018 winner.

The Dylan Thomas Prize 2018 winner described as having an “original and distinctive voice” is Kayo Chingonyi. He goes home with the UK pounds 30,000 prize money. The Dylan Thomas Prize is a prize for young writers in honour of the Welsh writer and poet Dylan Thomas presented annually. The prize worth £30,000 is open […]

Awards Fiction Nigeria Zambia

Ayobami Adebayo, Kayo Chingonyi longlisted for the Dylan Thomas Prize 2018

Nigerian Ayobami Adebayo and Zambian Kayo Chingonyi have been longlisted for the Dylan Thomas Prize 2018. Adebayo is on the list for her novel Stay With Me while Chingonyi is there for Kumukanda. Dylan Thomas was a Welsh poet and writer who became widely popular in his lifetime and remained so after his premature death […]

Awards Kenya Nigeria Sierra Leone Somalia Uganda

Brunel International African Poetry Prize 2017 shortlist announced

Ten poets have made the Brunel International African Poetry Prize 2017 shortlist announced today. The Brunel International African Poetry Prize launched in 2012 is a major annual poetry prize of £3000, aimed at the development, celebration and promotion of poetry from Africa. Now in its fifth year, the Prize is sponsored by Brunel University London […]