Awards Ethiopia Fiction Nigeria South Africa

Tochukwu Emmanuel Okafor is Short Story Day Africa Prize 2017 winner.

Tochukwu Emmanuel Okafor is the Short Story Day Africa Prize 2017 winner for his story All Our Lives. Agazit Abate and Michael Yee came second and third respectively. Short Story Day Africa is a literary initiative that was set up to celebrate the diversity of Africa’s voices. It brings together writers, readers, booksellers, publishers, teachers […]

Awards Ethiopia Fiction Kenya Nigeria South Africa Zimbabwe

Short Story Day Africa 2017 shortlist announced.

The Short Story Day Africa 2018 shortlist has been announced and features Agazit Abate, Michael Agugom, Michelle Angwenyi, Innocent Chizaram Ilo, Cherrie Kandie, Farai Mudzingwa, Tochukwu Emmanuel Okafor, Lester Walbrugh, and Michael Yee. Short Story Day Africa was established to celebrate the diversity of Africa’s voices and tell you who we really are; what we […]

Awards Benin Ethiopia Fiction Kenya Morocco Nigeria South Africa Uganda Zimbabwe

Short Story Day Africa Prize 2017 longlist announced

The Short Story Africa Prize 2017 has announced the 21 Africans making the cut for one of the continent’s most respected literary prizes. Short Story Day Africa is one of the more well-known literary prizes on the African continent today. Coming out of a South African base, the prize recognises short story writers from all […]


Eleven African writers descend on Dar es Salaam for Caine Prize workshop 2017

Eleven African writers are currently in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania for the annual Caine Prize workshop. The Caine Prize won’t be new to any reader of this blog. Started in 2000 to cast a spotlight on African writers, some of the most well-known writers have emerged since then. The Caine Prize workshop which is less […]