Tade Thompson’s “The Rosewater Insurrection”

Tade Thompson’s The Rosewater Insurrection, the second in the Wormwood Trilogy series, became available to the reading public on March 12, 2019.

On July 17, 2019, Tade Thompson won the Arthur C. Clarke Award 2019 for his novel Rosewater. The novel was the first in the Wormwood Trilogy series by the UK-based Nigerian. It seems that lovers of the book have had access to The Rosewater Insurrection, the sequel of the award-winning novel since March this year. We here at JamesMurua.com weren’t aware of the book’s existence until its author shared about it to his audience on social media. Here is the blurb for the book published by Orbit;

The Rosewater Insurrection continues the award-winning, cutting edge Wormwood trilogy, set in Nigeria, by one of science fiction’s most engaging new voices.

All is quiet in the city of Rosewater as it expands on the back of the gargantuan alien Wormwood. Those who know the truth of the invasion keep the secret.

The government agent Aminat, the lover of the retired sensitive Kaaro, is at the forefront of the cold, silent conflict. She must capture a woman who is the key to the survival of the human race. But Aminat is stymied by the machinations of the Mayor of Rosewater and the emergence of an old enemy of Wormwood…

Tade Thompson’s innovative, genre-bending, Afrofuturist series, the Wormwood Trilogy, is perfect for fans of Jeff Vandermeer, N. K. Jemisin, William Gibson, and Ann Leckie.

There you have it. Another must read book, especially for those whose tastes lean to the Afrofuturist. You can get a copy here.