Tade Thompson

Two of Tade Thompson’s works are on the British Science Fiction Awards 2019 shortlist announced on February 10, 2020.

Since 1970, the British Science Fiction Association has annually presented the British Science Fiction Association Awards to honour works in the science fiction genre. Nominees and winners are chosen based on a vote by members on the categories of novel, short fiction, artwork, and nonfiction. Some previous winners of the award have been Arthur C. Clarke, Geoff Ryman, and Iain M. Banks.

The shortlists for the 2019 edition of the awards were announced on Monday, February 10 and Tade Thompson, who also made the shortlists last year, is in the categories of Best Novel and Best Shorter Fiction. Here are his nominations;

Best Novel

  • Juliet E McKenna – The Green Man’s Foe (Wizard’s Tower Press)
  • Emma Newman – Atlas Alone (Gollancz)
  • Gareth L Powell – Fleet of Knives (Titan Books)
  • Adrian Tchaikovsky – Children of Ruin (Tor)
  • Tade Thompson – The Rosewater Insurrection (Orbit)

Best Shorter Fiction

  • Becky Chambers – To Be Taught, If Fortunate (Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Amal El-Mohtar & Max Gladstone – This is How You Lose the Time War (Jo Fletcher Books)
  • Fiona Moore – Jolene (Interzone #283)
  • Gareth L Powell – Ragged Alice (Tor.com)
  • Tade Thompson – The Survival of Molly Southbourne (Tor.com)
  • Ian Whates – For Your Own Good (Wourism and Other Stories, Luna Press)

The award winners will be presented in Birmingham, UK from April 10-13, 2019.