Tade Thompson

Tade Thompson is on the British Science Fiction Association Awards 2018 shortlist for his novel Rosewater.

The British Science Fiction Association Awards are presented annually since 1970 by the British Science Fiction Association to honour works in the genre of science fiction. Nominees and winners are chosen based on a vote by members on the categories of novel, short fiction, artwork, and nonfiction. Previous winners of the award are Arthur C. Clarke, Geoff Ryman, and Iain M. Banks.

The shortlist for the 2018 edition of the awards were announced and there is an African interest in those selected in the novel category. Here is that shortlist.

  • Rosewater, Tade Thompson (Orbit).
  • Europe at Dawn, Dave Hutchinson (Solaris).
  • Revenant Gun, Yoon Ha Lee (Solaris).
  • Before Mars, Emma Newman (Ace).
  • Embers of War, Gareth L. Powell, (Titan).

Tade Thompson who was born in London and grew up in Nigeria is a member of the African Speculative Fiction Society. His book Rosewater is the start of an award-winning, cutting edge trilogy set in Nigeria, by one of science fiction’s most engaging new voices.

The winners will be announced at the 70th Eastercon, Ytterbium, to be held in London, UK from April 19-22, 2019.

Update: The award was given to Gareth L Powell for Embers of War.