Syncity NG anniversary anthology

The Syncity NG anniversary anthology and prize winners were announced on July 17, 2019.

Syncity NG was founded by Nigerian writer Cynthia Osuchukwu as a regular multi-topic blog in 2017. In 2018, it embraced literature as a niche; they have since gone on to cover literary events and book festivals from across the African continent.

With the Nigerian-based platform getting to one year in existence, the team decided to celebrate by publishing an anthology with prizes on offer. Submissions for the anthology and prize came from around Africa from citizens of Nigeria, Kenya, Uganda, South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Benin Republic, and Ghana. From these, a longlist was selected with 23 stories followed by a shortlist of 11 stories.

The winners of the prize were selected by judges Mukoma Wa Ngugi and Leye Adenle and they are;

Joint first place winners:

  • Frances Ogamba: A Memorial In Service of Our Daughter, Sister, and Cousin.
  • Chiedozie: Diagnosis.

Third place winner:

  • Ezeani Chucks: A Zanga Soldier Never Dies.

Fourth place winner:

  • Erhu Kome Yellow: This Too Shall Pass.

Fifth place winner:

  • Maureen Onyeziri: Taming the Spirit

The anthology of these stories, called A Feast For Memory, with an introduction by Tendai Huchu is also ready. For how to access it please click here.