Time of the Writer 2019

The guest list for the Time of the Writer 2019, running from March 12-16 in Durban, South Africa has been announced.

The Time of the Writer, organised by the University of KwaZulu-Natal’s Centre for Creative Arts, is set to make its way back to the coastal town of Durban, South Africa this March. The literary festival which has hosted some of the most iconic names in African and world writing will be running for the 22nd year.

This year the people of Durban will be treated to a four-day festival that allows them, budding authors and literature lovers a chance to encounter some of South Africa’s most notable writers in some wonderfully curated up close and personal encounters. The events will happen at the Elizabeth Sneddon Theatre and other venues around the city.

The team organising the festival have announced the writers attending and they will be Dudu Busani-Dube, Siya Khumalo, Angela Makholwa, Lerato Mogoatlhe, Bhekisisa Mncube, Sihle Mthembu, Sue Nyathi, Niq Mhlongo, Sifiso Mzobe, Rosie Motene, Shalo Mbatha, Slungile Mavundla, Mandla KaNozulu, and Cyril James.

Below is the program for this year’s edition of the Time of the Writer.

Time of the Writer 2019 program