South African Literary Awards 2017

The shortlists for the South African Literary Awards 2020 were announced on October 5, 2020.

The South African Literary Awards, popularly referred to as the SALAs, have honoured many authors since they were founded in 2005. Winning writers and poets have included Es’kia Mphahlele, Nadine Gordimer, Miriam Tlali, Lauretta Ngcobo, Keorapetse Willie Kgositsile, Wally Mongane Serote, Sindiwe Magona, Zakes Mda, Panashe Chigumadzi, Zukiswa Wanner, Sihle Khumalo, Nuruddin Farah, Yewande Omotoso, Sifiso Mzobe, Sabata Mpho Mokae, and Phillippa Yaa de Villiers.

The SALAs honour writing and writers in all South African official languages across fourteen categories. They are K. Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award, which is a celebration of one of the country’s most prolific authors of his generation, K. Sello Duiker. First-Time published writers are also acknowledged and honoured by the Awards. The other is the Nadine Gordimer Short Story Literary Award, honouring thespians in the genre, across all languages. In addition, there are National Poet Laureate Prize, Poetry Award, Literary Translators Award, Lifetime Achievement Literary Award, Posthumous Literary Award, Literary Journalism Award, Creative Non-Fiction Award and, Chairperson’s Award, Children’s Literature Award, Youth Literature Award, and Novel Award.

The nominees in this year’s awards are;

Children’s Literature Award

  • Katana, Katana!, Nandipha Nomsobo (IsiXhosa)
  • It’s Jamela!, Niki Daly (English)

Youth Literature Award

  • Die Rietrotte Van Rietvallei Hoer, Nerine Ahlers (Afrikaans)
  • Born A Crime Edition for Young Readers, Trevor Noah (English)
  • Toring Van Jasmyn, Derick Van Der Walt (Afrikaans)
  • The Choice Between Us, Edyth Bulbring (EnglishI

First Time Published Author

  • Lucky Packet, Trevor Sacks (English)
  • We Are The Ones We Need, Sihle Bolani (English)
  • Kinders van Spookwerwe, Lize Albertyn-du Toit (Afrikaans)
  • Waterberg Echoes, Richard Wadley (English)

Poetry Award

  • Grondwater, Marlise Joubert (Afrikaans)
  • All The Places, Musawenkosi Khanyile (English)
  • Otherwise Occupied, Sally Ann Murray (English)
  • Jan, Piet, Koos en Jakob, Loftus Marais (Afrikaans)

Novel Award

  • Lacuna, Fiona Snyckers (English)
  • Illumination, Nthikeng Mohlele (English)

To be announced at the ceremony

  • K Sello Duiker Memorial Award
  • Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award
  • Literary Journalism Award
  • Literary Translators Award
  • Posthumous Literary Award
  • Chairman’s Literary Award
  • Lifetime Achievement Literary Award

The winners will be announced at a celebratory awards ceremony to be held virtually on 7th November 2020, the International African Writers’ Day.