South African Literary Awards 2018 shortlistees announced.

The South African Literary Awards 2019 shortlists were announced on October 4, 2019.

The South African Literary Awards, popularly referred to as the SALAs, have honoured many authors since they were founded in 2005. The winning writers and poets have included Es’kia Mphahlele, Nadine Gordimer, Miriam Tlali, Lauretta Ngcobo, Keorapetse Willie Kgositsile, Wally Mongane Serote, Sindiwe Magona, Zakes Mda, Panashe Chigumadzi, Zukiswa Wanner, Sihle Khumalo, Nuruddin Farah, Yewande Omotoso, Sifiso Mzobe, Sabata Mpho Mokae, and Phillippa Yaa de Villiers.

The awards, organised annually by the wRite associates in partnership with the Department of Arts and Culture, made a callout for entries in March. On Friday, October 4, they announced the shortlists for the awards in the categories for children’s literature, youth literature, poetry, translation, novels, and more for 2019.

Here is the full list of those in the running for the awards.

Children’s Literature Award

  • Lebohang Masango, Mpumi’s Magic Beads
  • Jaco Jacobs, Rondomtalie

Youth Literature Award

  • Sally Partridge, Mine
  • Marion Erskine, Vlerke Vir Almal

First-time Published Author Award

  • Bongani Ngqulunga, The Man Who Founded The ANC
  • Rekgotsofetse Chikane, Breaking A Rainbow, Building A Nation:: The Politics behind #MustFall Movements
  • Lodewyk G Du Plessis, Die Dao Van Daan Van Der Walt.

Poetry Award Author

  • Tony Ullyatt, An Unobtrusive Vice
  • Willie van der Merwe, Doodmenslik
  • Nathan Transtraal, Alles Het Niet Kom Wod
  • Ayanda Billie, Umhlaba Umanzi

K Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award

  • Chase Rhys, Kinnes

Novel Award Author

  • Charl-Pierre Naude, Die Ongelooflike Onskuld van Dirkie Verweyz
  • Sabata-Mpho Mokae, Moletlo Wa Manong
  • Ingrid Winterbach, Die Troebel Tyd.

Nadine Gordimer Short-Story Award

  • Ken Barris, The Life of Worm & Other Misconceptions.
  • Niq Mhlongo, Soweto Under The Apricot Tree

Creative Non-Fiction Literary Award

  • Sylvia Neame, Imprisoned
  • Johnson Jansen, As By Fire
  • Jeremy Vearey, Vannie Elsies.

Literary Translator’s

  • Dominique Botha, Original: Kamphoer Translation: The Camp Whore. English to Afrikaans.
  • Michiel Heyns, Original: Buys Translation: Red Dog. Afrikaans to English

Literary Journalism Award

  • Jennifer Malec, Body of work
  • Wamuwi Mbao, Body of work

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Louise Smit, Body of work
  • Cornelius Tennyson Daniel (CTD) Marivate, Body of work

Posthumous Literary Award

  • To be announced at the awards ceremony

Chairperson’s Award

  • To be announced at the awards ceremony

The winners will be announced at a gala dinner in Pretoria, South Africa on November 7, 2019.