South African Literary Awards 2018 shortlistees announced.

The wRite associates who organise South African Literary Awards 2019, in partnership with the Department of Arts and Culture, have made a call for submissions.

The South African Literary Awards, popularly referred to as the SALAs, have honoured authors in all official South African languages since they were founded in 2005. They have been won by writers like Es’kia Mphahlele, Nadine Gordimer, Miriam Tlali, Lauretta Ngcobo, Keorapetse Willie Kgositsile, Wally Mongane Serote, Sindiwe Magona, Zakes Mda, Panashe Chigumadzi, Zukiswa Wanner, Sihle Khumalo, Nuruddin Farah, Yewande Omotoso, Sifiso Mzobe, Sabata Mpho Mokae, and Phillippa Yaa de Villiers.

The wRite associates who organise the awards in partnership with the Department of Arts and Culture have invited South African writers to submit their work for the 14th South African Literary Awards in 12 categories.

(1) First Time Published Author Award
(2) K. Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award
(3) Poetry Award
(4) Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award
(5) Creative Non-Fiction Literary Award
(6) Literary Translators Award
(7) Literary Journalism Award
(8) Posthumous Literary Award
(9) Lifetime Achievement Literary Award
(10) Novel Award
(11) Children’s Literature Award
(12) Youth Literature Award

For more information on how to enter for the awards please click here. You can go directly here to download the call for submissions.