South African Literary Awards 2018 shortlistees announced.

The South African Literary Awards 2018 shortlistees were announced on September 28, 2018.

The South African Literary Awards popularly referred to as the SALAs, started in 2005, have honoured 160 authors in 11 categories in all official South African languages. The award has been won by the most well-known writers in the South African literary scene including Es’kia Mphahlele, Nadine Gordimer, Miriam Tlali, Lauretta Ngcobo, Keorapetse Willie Kgositsile, Mongane Serote, Sindiwe Magona, Zakes Mda, Panashe Chigumadzi, Zukiswa Wanner, Sihle Khumalo, Nuruddin Farah, Yewande Omotoso, Sifiso Mzobe, Sabata Mpho Mokae, and Phillippa Yaa de Villiers.

In the call out earlier in the year the SALA awards sought out work from South African writers in the categories of, First-time Published Author Award, K Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award, Poetry Award, Nadine Gordimer Short story Award, Creative Non-fiction Literary Award, Literary Translators Award, Literary Journalism Award, Posthumous Literary Award, Lifetime Achievement Literary Award, Novel Award and Children’s Literature Award.

In the awards shortlists announced, the K Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award which has been won in previous years by Nthikeng Mohlele (2017), Panashe Chigumadzi (2016), Zukiswa Wanner (2015), and Jamala Safari (2014) does not have a shortlisted work. We aren’t sure what this means as in the last few years this has been one of the most anticipated prizes.

Here is the full list of those in the running for the awards this year.

First-time Published Author Award

  1. Celesté Fritze,
  2. Malebo Sephodi, Miss Behave.

Creative Non- Fiction Award

  1. Deon Maas, Melk die heilige koeie: Van baarde en banting tot Zupta and zol.
  2. Jurgen Schadeberg, The Way I See It.

Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award.


Poetry Award

  1. Johan Myburg, Uittogboek.
  2. Kelwyn Sole, Walking, Falling.

Literary Translators Award

1 Jeff Opland and Peter Mtuze, Umoya Wembongi: Collected Poems 1922 – 1935) by John Solilo, isiXhosa to English.

2 Jeff Opland and Peter Mtuze, Iziganeko Zesizwe: Occasional Poems (1900-1943) by S.E.K. Mqhayi

Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award

  1. Nick Mulgrew, The First Law of Sadness.
  2. Nicole Jaekel, Strauss As in die mond.

Novel Award

  1. Dan Sleigh,
  2. Rehana Rossouw, New Times.

Children’s Literature Award

  1. Marilyn J Honikman, There should have been five.
  2. Jaco Jacobs, Daar is nie ʼnkrokodil in hierdie boek nie.
  3. Jaco Jacobs, Moenie hierdeie boek eet nie.
  4. Marita Van Der Vyver, Al wat ek weet.

Lifetime Achievement Literary Award

  1. Hermann Giliomee.
  2. Ronnie Kasrils.

To be announced at the award ceremony

  • Posthumous Literary Award
  • Literary Journalism Award
  • Chairperson’s Award
  • National Poet Laureate

The winners will be announced at a glittering awards ceremony on the 6th November at UNISA.