Mohale Mashigo

The South African Literary Awards have announced the shortlists for the best work for 2017.

Since its inception in 2005 the South African Literary Awards popularly known as the SALA has honoured 160 authors in 11 categories in all official South African languages. The award has been won by the most well-known writers in the South African literary scene. Some of the names that have won these awards since they started include Es’kia Mphahlele, Nadine Gordimer, Miriam Tlali, Lauretta Ngcobo, Keorapetse Willie kgositsile, Mongane Serote, Sindiwe Magona, Zakes Mda, Panashe Chigumadzi, Zukiswa Wanner, Sihle Khumalo, Nuruddin Farah, Yewande Omotoso, Sifiso Mzobe, Sabata Mpho Mokae, and Phillippa Yaa de Villiers. It’s an impressive names of writers from the last decade and a bit.

The class of 2017 sees twenty eight South Africa’s authors are shortlisted for the South African Literary Awards 2017. They categories where the writers are in the running are Poetry, Creative Non- Fiction, Literary Translation, and the first-time published author. There are also special awards like the Lifetime Achievement, Posthumous and Chairperson’s Award. Then there are the awards named after k.Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award for the best novel and the Nadine Gordimer Short story Award for best short story.

The full list of those the running for the awards this year includes;

First-time Published Author Award

  • Amy Jephta – Kristalvlakte
  • Moses Shimo Seletisha – Tšhutšhumakgala
  • Mohale Mashigo – The Yearning

k.Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award

  • Kopano Matlwa – Period Pain
  • Nthikeng Mohlele – Pleasure

Poetry Award

  • Helen Moffett – Prunings
  • Ronelda S Kamfer – Hammie
  • Simphiwe Ali Nolutshungu – Iingcango Zentliziyo

Creative Non- Fiction Award

  • Dikgang Moseneke – My Own Liberator
  • Elsabé Brits – Emily Hobhouse – Geliefde Verraaier
  • Sylvia Vollenhoven – The Keeper Of The Kumm: Ancestral Longing And Belonging Of A Boesmankind

Literary Journalism Award

  • Don Makatile – His oeuvre
  • Phakama Mbonambi – His oeuvre

Literary Translators Award

  • Bridget Theron-Bushell – The Thirstland Trek: 1874 – 1881 , The Thirstland Trek 1874 – 1881
  • Jeff Opland, Wandile Kuse and Pamela Maseko William Wellington Gqoba: Isizwe Esinembali Xhosa Histories And Poetry (1873 – 1888)
  • Jeff Opland and Pamela Maseko Yali-Manisi: Iimbali Zamanyange, Historical Poems

Nadine Gordimer Short story Award

  • Nick Mulgrew – Stations
  • Roela Hattingh – Kamee

Posthumous Literary Award Author

  • |A!kunta
  • !Kabbo
  • ≠Kasin
  • Dia!kwain
  • |Han≠kass’o

Lifetime Achievement Literary Award

  • Vusamazulu Credo Mutwa
  • Aletta Matshedisð Motimele
  • Etienne Van Heerden

Chairperson’s Award

The recipient will be announced at the award ceremony