Sillerman First Book Prize for African Poets

The Sillerman First Book Prize for African Poetry 2020 is seeking poetry manuscripts starting September 15, 2019.

The Sillerman First Book Prize for African Poetry is awarded annually to an African poet who has not yet published a full collection of poetry. The prize, named after benefactors Laura and Robert F. X. Sillerman, gives prize money of USD $1000 to the winner. They also get their collection published by the University of Nebraska Press and Amalion Press in Senegal. Previous winners of the award have been Clifton Gachagua (2014), Ladan Osman (2015), Mahtem Shiferraw (2016), Safia Elhillo’s (2017), Tjawangwa Dema (2018), and Gbenga Adeoba (2019).

The Sillerman Prize 2020 is open for submissions from September 15th in English although translated work is acceptable, a percentage of the prize will be awarded to the translator. Manuscripts should be at least 50 pages, and eligible writers may submit more than one manuscript.

The contest will be judged by the African Poetry Book Fund Editorial Board that includes Kwame Dawes, Chris Abani, Matthew Shenoda, John Keene, Aracelis Girmay, Gabeba Baderoon, and Bernardine Evaristo.

There is no entry fee required to submit to the contest. For more details about this opportunity please click here.

Your deadline is December 1st.