Sillerman First Book Prize 2016 open for writers

Ladan Osman
Ladan Osman

The Sillerman First Book Prize has started to become one of the best prizes for African poets to show their chops in world poetry. Past winners of the prize include 2014 winner Ladan Osman and 2013 winner Clifton Gachagua, whose collection Madman at Kilifi was released as part of this year’s African Poetry Book series.
For those who wish to join this very cool crew, the African Poetry Book Fund is accepting submissions for the Sillerman First Book Prize for African Poets. Apart from being the Man/Woman for the year, winners receive $1,000 US and publication through the University of Nebraska Press and Amalion Press in Senegal.
The African Poetry Book Fund Editorial Board, including Kwame Dawes, Chris Abani, Matthew Shenoda, John Keene, Gabeba Baderoon, and Bernardine Evaristo, will judge. A winner will be announced in early January, with notifications sent shortly thereafter.
Update: The callout out has ended.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.