Sanaa Theatre Awards 2018 nominees unveiled in Nairobi

The Sanaa Theatre Awards 2018 nominees were unveiled at a ceremony at the Kenyan National Theatre in Nairobi on Friday, November 23, 2013. The winners will be announced at a ceremony on December 3, 2018.

The Sanaa Theatre Awards are an award scheme recognising excellence in the field of theatre in Kenya. The awards, founded by George Orido, started in 2013 and have celebrated some of the best names in Kenyan theatre and performance including playwrights John Sibi Okumu, and Kuldip Sondhi.

The 2018 edition of the awards were unveiled last Friday at the Kenya National Theatre. The awards had had a blow this year when the jury chairman Chris Wanjala passed on; his position would be filled by two judges in academic and theatre-maker Dr Fred Mbogo and arts writer Dr Margaretta Wa Gacheru.

This year there are numerous awards for the performance community in Kenya. We love writers and in the theatre fraternity, they are called playwrights. This year those in the running for that category are Kigondu Martin for Of Cords and Discords, Derrick Waswa for State of Incommunicado, Aleya Kassam Anne Moraa, Laura Ekumbo for Too Early For Birds (Brazen Edition), Walter Sitati for Necessary Madness, Mbeki Mwalimu and Jackson Biko for Breathe, Xavier Nato for Opiyo and Juliet and Justin Mirichi.

This year this blogger has a very personal interest in the awards as we have been nominated in the “Best Theatre, Art and Culture Writer” category alongside Time Mworia (, Antony Njagi (Daily Nation), Caroline Nyanga (The Standard), and Bill Odidi (KBC).

Sanaa Theatre Awards founder George Orido with chief judges Margaretta Wa Gacheru, and Fred Mbogo.
Sanaa Theatre Awards founder George Orido with chief judges Margaretta Wa Gacheru, and Fred Mbogo.

The full list of the awards being sought out is;

Best Actor · Best Actress · Best Actress in a Supporting Role · Best Actor in a Supporting Role · Best Director · Best Playwright · Best Set Light and Sound Design · Best Costumes · Best Production · Best Comedy · Best Tragedy · Best Musical Theatre · Best Dance Theatre · Best Play in English · Best Play in Kiswahili · Best Play In a Foreign Language · Best Play In a Local Language · Best Production On Governance And Human Rights – Martin Luther King Junior Award · Best Production On Reproductive Health · Best Production On Child Rights And Protection · Best Production On Women Rights And Gender Based Violence – Maya Angelou Award · Best Spoken Word and Poetry – Rosa Parks Award · Best Production Of TV Comedy Recorded Before A Live Audience · Best Comedian On TV – Male · Best Comedian On TV – Female · Best Producer · Best Theatre, Art and Culture Writer · Best TV Art Culture News Magazine · Best Art and Culture Magazine / Newspaper · Best All-time Supporting Institution · Best Supporting Individual · Best Performing Theatre Space · Most Improved Theatre Space · Lifetime Achievement Award · Best Production Primary School · Best Production Secondary School · Best Production College and University – Prof Chris Wanjala Award · Best Narrative Theatre · Best Live Music Performance – Daniel Pearl Award · Best Supporting County Distinguished Diaspora Award – Owiso Odera Award.