Quramo Writers’ Prize 2021 shortlist announced.

The shortlist for the Quramo Writers’ Prize 2021 was announced in Lagos, Nigeria on September 22, 2021.

The Quramo Writers’ Prize is awarded annually to an unpublished fiction manuscript by an unpublished author. The award was founded by Nigeria-based Quramo Publishers to encourage and stimulate a new community of talented writers as well as provide an opportunity for otherwise unexposed talent to achieve publishing recognition. Previous winners have been Samuel Monye (2017), Michael Emmanuel (2018), and Vivian Onyekachi Ibe (2019), and Kadiri Alex (2020).

The longlist of ten manuscripts selected from a total of 351 entries for this year was announced on September 3. The shortlist of five writers still in the running features the following;

  • Dark Spots Of Light by Ifeanyi Ekpunobi
  • Fate Of The Forlorn by Cynthia Nnadi
  • Looking Glass Bullet by Akinnimi Akintomiwa Oluwaseun
  • Under The Aluminum Sky by Cynthia Chukwuma
  • In My Backwater Town by Ishola Oyinkansola Hubaidat 

The winner of the Quramo Writers’ Prize 2021 will be unveiled at the grand finale of the Quramo Festival of Words (QFest) on Sunday, 3 October 2021. The winner will receive a cash award of 1million Naira, and a development publishing deal for their manuscript.