Awards Fiction

Prix Littéraire Les Afriques 2022 finalists announced.

Estelle-Sarah Bulle, Emmelie Prophète, Imbolo Mbue, Fann Attiki, and Osvalde Lewat are finalists of Prix Littéraire Les Afriques 2022. The announcement was made on September 19, 2022.

Prix Littéraire Les Afriques is awarded annually to an African or writer of African descent who has written fiction highlighting a human, societal, ideological, political, cultural, economic or historical issue related to Africa or its diaspora. Prix Les Afriques, created by the Swiss lawyer Ngoãn Beti founded association La Cene Littéraire in 2015, gives exposure to African authors and authors of African descent. It has been won previously by Fiston Mwanza Mujila (2021), Ayobami Adebayo (2020), Elnathan John (2019), Kei Miller (2018), Abdelaziz Baraka Sakin (2017) and Hemley Boum (2016).

The jury this year features previous jurors Ambroise Kom (Chairman), Hortense Sime, Alphonsine Bouya, M. Boubacar Boris Diop, M. Sada Kane, M. Koulsy Lamko. They are joined by novelist, poet and international civil servant (Benin) Adelaide Fassinou, poet and novelist (Haiti) Kettly Mars, and University of Montreal Associate Professor M. Josias Semujanga from Canada (Rwanda).

The finalists for 2022 are:

  • Les étoiles les plus filantes, – Estelle-Sarah Bulle
  • Les villages de Dieu, Emmelie Prophète
  • Puissions-nous vivre longtemps, Imbolo Mbue (translator: Catherine Gibert)
  • Cave 72, Fann Attiki
  • Les Aquatiques, Osvalde Lewat

The winner, to be announced in mid-December, will get a cash prize of 6,000 Swiss Francs, a work of art worth 3,500 Swiss Francs, and 10,000 books bought from the publisher for distribution across the continent.

By James Murua

This blog is run by James Murua a Nairobi, Kenya based lover of books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.