Awards Cameroon Nigeria Senegal South Africa

Prix Les Afriques 2019 longlist announced in Geneva.

The Prix Les Afriques 2019 longlist was announced in Geneva, Switzerland on February 17, 2019.

La Cene Littéraire is an association, founded in May 2015, whose aim is to promote the literature of continental and diasporic Africa. Every year since 2016, they have hosted a literary award initially called the “Prix Du Livre Engage” and now the “Prix Les Afriques”. It distinguishes a black writer highlighting a human, societal, ideological, political, cultural, economic or historical cause related to the Black world. Previous winners of the prize include Kei Miller (2018), Abdelaziz Baraka Sakin (2017) and Hemley Boum (2016).

The organisation announced those in the running for the prize this year which apart from the literary glory will have a writer go home with CHF6,000. Some of the names on the list which are better known in African literature today include Mohamed Mbougar Sarr, Kopano Matlwa, Abubakar Adam Ibrahim, and Elnathan John. The full list includes;

  • Atipo, Mon Mari, Dibakana Mankessi, The Doxa Editions, 2018
  • Comrade Papa, Gauz, The New Attila, 2018
  • Des Cris Sous La Peau, Fatoumata Diallo Ba, Panafrican Press, 2018
  • De purs hommes, Mohamed Mbougar Sarr, Philippe Rey Publishing, 2018
  • Il est A Toi Ce Beau Pays, Jennifer Richard, Albin Michel, 2018
  • Je Suis Quelqu’un, Aminata Aidara, Gallimard, 2018
  • Je Suis Seul, Mbarek Beyrouk, Editions Elyzad, 2018
  • Le Dance De Pilar, Charline Effah, La Cheminante, 2018
  • Le Saison Des Fleurs De Flamme, Abubakar Adam Ibrahim, Editions de l’Observatoire, 2018
  • Le Sarcophage Des Mutiles, Stephens Akplogan, LC Editions, 2018
  • Loin De Douala, Max Lobe, Éditions Zoé, 2018
  • Ne Un Mardi, Elnathan John , Métaille, 2018
  • Regles Douloureuses, Kopano Matlwa , The Feathered Serpent, 2018
  • Un Ailleurs A Soi, Emmelie Prophet, Memory of inkwell, 2018
  • Vert gru, Touhfat Mouhtare-Mahamoud, Komedit, 2018

Choosing a winner from this list will be novelist and essayist Théo Ananissoh; novelist Ken Bugul; novelist and essayist Boubacar Boris Diop; novelist and essayist Koulsy Lamko; and Dr Hortense Sime. The jury is chaired by Ambroise Kom, an essayist and professor of African, African-American and Caribbean literatures at several universities.

The winner of the prize will be announced at a ceremony in Geneva, Switzerland this June.

One reply on “Prix Les Afriques 2019 longlist announced in Geneva.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.