Prix Kourouma

Six writers feature on the shortlist for the Prix Kourouma 2021 announced in Geneva, Switzerland on May 31, 2021.

When legendary Ivorian author Ahmadou Kourouma passed away in 2003, the African salon at the Geneva Book Fair decided to pay tribute to him by creating a literary prize that bears his name in the following year. Awarded each year as part of the Geneva Book Fair, the Prix Ahmadou Kourouma rewards a French-speaking, African or African-born author from sub-Saharan Africa, for a fictional work – novel, story or short story – including the spirit of independence, lucidity and clairvoyance in the vein of the literary and humanist heritage bequeathed by the Ivorian novelist.

It has been won in the past by among others, Scholastique Mukasonga (2012), Tierno Monénembo (2013),  Mutt-Lon (2014),  Mohamed Mbougar Sarr (2015), Mbarek Ould Beyrouk (2016), Max Lobe (2017), Wilfried N’Sondé (2018), David Diop (2019), and Hemley Boum (2020).

The jury for this year’s award with Jacques Chevrier as Président includes Christine Le Quellec Cottier, Isabelle Rüf, Isabelle Chariatte, Romuald Fonkoua, Boniface Mongo Mboussa, and Nétonon Noël Ndjékéry. This team announced the longlist in April 28 before unveiling the shortlist on Monday. Those still in the running for this prize are;

  • Perdre le corps, Theo Ananissoh (Gallimard)
  • L’Odyssée des oubliés, Khalil Diallo (L’Harmattan)
  • Black Manoo, Gauz (Le Nouvel Attila)
  • La Mer Noire dans les Grands Lacs, Annie Lulu (Julliard)
  • La Danse du Vilain, Fiston Mwanza Mujila (Métaillé)
  • Dans le ventre du Congo, Blaise Ndala (Seuil)

The winner of the award who gets a CHF5,000 cash prize, literary recognition and media coverage will be announced at the Geneva Book Fair in November 2021.