Awards Zimbabwe

Petina Gappah makes Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award 2016 shortlist

Petina Gappah
Petina Gappah

Zimbabwe’s Petina Gappah has made it onto the shortlist of the Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award 2016 that was announced yesterday. She is listed for her story The News of Her Death that ran in the Transatlantic.

The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award is, at £30,000 to the winner, the world’s richest prize for a single short story. The award, for a story of outstanding literary merit, is open to any novelist or short story writer from around the world who is published in the UK or Ireland. As well as the winning prize of £30,000, five shortlisted authors each receive £1,000.

The full list of shortlisted writers and the titles of their short stories are;

  • The Dacha by Alix Christie
  • The News of Her Death by Petina Gappah
  • What Time is it Now, Where You Are? by Colum McCann
  • Unbeschert by Edith Pearlman
  • The Phosphoresence by Nicholas Ruddock
  • The Human Phonograph by Jonathan Tel

It’s been a great year for Gappah who was longlisted for the Baileys Prize for Fiction a few weeks ago for her second book The Book of Memory.

Good luck Petina!

By James Murua

This blog is run by James Murua a Nairobi, Kenya based lover of books.

One reply on “Petina Gappah makes Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award 2016 shortlist”

[…] An international lawyer and writer from Zimbabwe, Petina Gappah is the author of two critically acclaimed short story collections, An Elegy for Easterly and Rotten Row, and a novel, The Book of Memory, winner of The McKitterick Prize. Her short stories have been published in The New Yorker, A Public Space and other journals, and have been shortlisted for the Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award. […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.