Patience Agbabi. Photo/Lyndon Douglas

Patience Agbabi’s novel The Infinite is on the shortlist for the Arthur C. Clarke Award 2021 announced on June 30, 2021.

The annual Arthur C. Clarke Award, given for the best science fiction novel first published in the UK during the previous year, was founded in 1987. Some previous winners of the award, established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke, have been Lauren Beukes, Tade Thompson, and Namwali Serpell. Nnedi Okorafor made the shortlist in 2016.

The award judges are a voluntary body with members nominated by the award’s supporting organisations, currently the British Science Fiction Association, the Science Fiction Foundation and the Sci-Fi-London film festival. The 2021 edition is being judged by Phoenix Alexander, Nicole Devarenne, Stewart Hotston, Nick Hubble, and Alasdair Stuart, with Andrew M. Butler serving as the non-voting Chair of the Judges.

The panel has announced the shortlist from the 105 books from 41 publishing imprints and independent authors that were submitted. From this list there is one book from a writer of African descent in Patience Agbabi’s The Infinite. Patience Agbabi is a British poet and performer who gives particular emphasis to the spoken word.

Responding on her Twitter Agbabi said, “I’m over the moon about this!”