Awards Fiction Nigeria Speculative Fiction United States

P. Djèlí Clark, Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki win at Nebula Awards 2022.

P. Djèlí Clark and Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki won in the categories at the Nebula Awards 2022 in an announcement made on Saturday, May 21, 2022.

The Nebula Awards, recognising the best works of science fiction or fantasy published in the United States, were first held in 1966. They are organized and awarded by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, a non-profit association of professional science fiction and fantasy writers annually. Some winners of the awards in the past have been Isaac Asimov, Arthur C. Clarke, Octavia E. Butler, Nnedi Okorafor, Tomi Adeyemi, and P. Djèlí Clark.

The finalists for this year were made public on March 8 before the winners were announced at a virtual ceremony as part of the Nebula Conference 2022.  The writers of African descent who won in their categories are;

Nebula Award for Novel

  • A Master of Djinn, P. Djèlí Clark (Tordotcom; Orbit UK)

P. Djèlí Clark said on his Twitter on the win, “this is still surreal. congrats to all the finalists. it was an amazing slate to be a part of. thanks to SFWA, all the readers, and everyone who supported this novel. Looking good Fats!”

Nebula Award for Novelette

  • “O2 Arena”, Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki (Galaxy’s Edge 11/21)

 Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki commented, “My climate fiction story O2 Arena a Hugo, BSFA & Nommo finalist just made me the 1st African, Nebula winner for novelette & 1st African born – Black, Nebula award winner.”

By James Murua

This blog is run by James Murua a Nairobi, Kenya based lover of books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.