Oyinkan Braithwaite

Oyinkan Braithwaite’s debut novel My Sister, the Serial Killer is on the Anthony Award 2019 shortlist announced on May 15, 2019.

The Anthony Award is named for the late Anthony Boucher, a well-known California writer, and critic who wrote for the San Francisco Chronicle and the New York Times Book Review who also helped found Mystery Writers of America. They are given in the categories of Best Novel, Best First Novel, Best Paperback Original, Best Short Story, Best Critical / Non-fiction Work, and Special Service award.

First presented in 1986 at the Bouchercon World Mystery Convention, the Anthony Awards are among the most prestigious and coveted literary awards. Previous winners include Agatha Christie, J.K. Rowling, and Stieg Larsson.

The shortlists for this year’s awards announced on Wednesday, May 15 featured the work of an African writer for the first time in its history. The work in question was My Sister, the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite in the best first novel category. Here are the four other novels that the Nigerian is listed alongside;

Best First Novel

  • My Sister, the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite (Doubleday).
  • Broken Places by Tracy Clark (Kensington).
  • Dodging and Burning by John Copenhaver (Pegasus Books).
  • What Doesn’t Kill You by Aimee Hix (Midnight Ink).
  • Bearskin by James A. McLaughlin (Ecco).

The Anthony Awards will be voted on by attendees at the Bouchercon World Mystery Convention and presented on Saturday, November 2.