Ondjaki, Philipp Khabo Koepsell for James Murua Literary LiveStream.

Ondjaki and Philipp Khabo Koepsell are the guests of the James Murua Literary LiveStream on Wednesday, November 18, 2020, at 18:00 GMT/ 19:00 WAT/ 20:00 CAT/ 21:00 EAT. You can join the stream, brought to you in cooperation with Frankfurter Buchmesse with financial support from the German Federal Foreign Office, on Facebook, YouTube, or Twitter.

This month, we introduced the James Murua Literary LiveStream to shine a light on the African literary ecosystem and ways to make it better. Previous guests to the stream have been Abubakar Adam Ibrahim as well as Maaza Mengiste and Antje Rávik Strubel. The latter event was in cooperation with Frankfurter Buchmesse with financial support from the German Federal Foreign Office.

The writers who will feature on this week’s Livestream are Ondjaki and Philipp Khabo Koepsell. Here are more details about the two;

Ondjaki

Ondjaki
Ondjaki

Ondjaki has published four novels, three collections of short stories, two collections of poetry, and three children’s books. His literary debut came in 2002 with the novella O Assobiador (The Whistler), which was followed up with the childhood memoir Bom dia Camaradas (Good Morning, Comrades) in 2003. Since then he has also published Transparent City (2012), Uma Escuridão Bonita (2013), Sonhos Azuis Pelas Esquinas (2014), Há Gente em Casa (2018).

Ondjaki has been awarded a number of important prizes, among them the prestigious Jabuti Prize. His novel Transparent City was awarded the Saramago Prize 2013, Prix Transfuge 2015, and Prix Littérature Monde 2016. He was also selected among the top 39 African writers under the age of 40 for the Africa39 anthology project.

His books have been translated into French, Spanish, Italian, German, English, Chinese and Swedish.

Philipp Khabo Koepsell

Philipp Khabo Koepsell. Photo/Julia Brilling
Philipp Khabo Koepsell. Photo/Julia Brilling

Philipp Khabo Koepsell is a Berlin-based author, dramaturge, and an internationally acclaimed spoken word performer of German and South African descent. With a clear focus on empowerment and negotiations of race and identity, he has been touring Europe and South Africa, giving joyful lessons on activism and performance.

He has published seven books, incl. several anthologies of poetry. As a dramaturg, he worked for the Berlin-based theatre Ballhaus Naunynstraße and independent theatre groups.

For the NGO Each One Teach One (EOTO) e.V., Koepsell has managed the literature events as well as the in-house archive projects and continues consult artists of colour regarding project management, dramaturgy, and funding.

The two will join me on the LiveStream on Wednesday, November 18 at 18:00 GMT/ 19:00 WAT/ 20:00 CAT/ 21:00 EAT. To interact with them, join the stream on Facebook, YouTube, or Twitter.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.