Olivia Douglass and Warda Yassin are on the Women Poets’ Prize 2020 shortlist announced in London on October 23, 2020.

The Rebecca Swift Foundation was set up in memory of Rebecca Swift the editor, novelist, diarist, poet, and founder and director of The Literary Consultancy. The Foundation provides support and creative professional development opportunities to women poets through the delivery of its biennial Women Poets’ Prize. The Prize, which is free to enter, aims to maximise vital creative space for women poets within a supported environment.

The longlist for the prize judged by Malika Booker, Liz Berry, and Pascale Petit this year was announced on September 21. The shortlist announced on October 23 has the following poets;

  • Alisha Dietzman
  • Olivia Douglass
  • Eve Ellis
  • Cecilia Knapp
  • Natalie Linh Bolderston
  • Bryony Littlefair
  • Laura Potts
  • Yvette Siegert
  • Warda Yassin

The judges said: “The poems were ambitious, experimental and ground-breaking in terms of formal, thematic, rhythmic, lyrical, narrative consideration. It is heart-lifting to know that women are making such thrilling, ambitious, tender work, and that the world of poetry is moving forwards in exciting ways and in such capable hands. An exciting selection of poems.”

The winner will be revealed in early November. They will receive a package including a £1,500 cash bursary, a poetry mentor, pastoral coaching and various creative and collaborative opportunities.