The longlist for the OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature 2021 was announced on Sunday, March 14, 2021.

The OCM (One Caribbean Media) Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature is an annual award for literary books by Caribbean writers, first presented in 2011. Books are judged in three categories: poetry; fiction — both novels and collections of short stories; and literary non-fiction — including books of essays, biography and autobiography, history, current affairs, travel, and other genres, which demonstrate literary qualities and use literary techniques, regardless of subject matter. Some of the previous overall winners of the prize have been Derek Walcott, Monique Roffey, and Kei Miller.

The longlists for the 2021 edition of the prize, with overall judge Vahni Capildeo (Trinidad & Tobago/ United Kingdom), have been announced. Those in the running with judges per category are;


Judges: Opal Palmer Adisa (Chief Judge) (Jamaica), Kaie Kellough (Canada), Danielle Boodoo-Fortuné (Trinidad & Tobago).

  • The Dyzgraphxst by Canisia Lubrin (McClelland & Stewart)
  • Guabancex by Celia Sorhaindo (Papillote Press)
  • Country of Warm Snow by Mervyn Taylor (Shearsman)


Judges: Malachi McIntosh (United Kingdom), Tiphanie Yanique (US Virgin Islands/ USA), Roland Gulliver (United Kingdom).

  • These Ghosts Are Family by Maisy Card (Simon & Schuster)
  • Love After Love by Ingrid Persaud (Faber UK/One World US)
  • The Mermaid of Black Conch by Monique Roffey (Peepal Tree Press)


Judges: Rosamond S. King (Trinidad and Tobago / USA), Blake Morrison (United Kingdom), Gaiutra Bahadur (Guyana/ USA).

  • of colour by Katherine Agyemaa Agard (Essay Press)
  • The Undiscovered Country by Andre Bagoo (Peepal Tree Press)
  • Musings, Mazes, Muses, Margins by Gordon Rohlehr (Peepal Tree Press)

The shortlist, consisting of the winners of the three genre categories, to receive US$3,000, will be announced on March 28, 2021.  The overall winner, to receive US$10,000, will be announced during the virtual NGC Bocas Lit Fest from April 23 – 25, 2021.