Nyana Kakoma, Mariela Nagle for James Murua Literary LiveStream

Nyana Kakoma, Mariela Nagle for James Murua Literary LiveStream

Nyana Kakoma and Mariela Nagle are the guests at the James Murua Literary LiveStream on Wednesday, December 2, 2020, at 18:00 GMT/ 19:00 WAT/ 20:00 CAT/ 21:00 EAT. You can join the stream, brought to you in cooperation with Frankfurter Buchmesse with financial support from the German Federal Foreign Office, on Facebook, YouTube, or Twitter.

This month, we introduced the James Murua Literary LiveStream to shine a light on the African literary ecosystem and ways to make it better. Previous guests to the stream have been Abubakar Adam Ibrahim; Maaza Mengiste and Antje Rávik Strubel; Ondjaki and Philipp Khabo Koepsell; as well as Mariette Tchamda Mbunpi and Annette Michael. The latter events were brought to you in cooperation with Frankfurter Buchmesse with financial support from the German Federal Foreign Office.

Nyana Kakoma

Nyana Kakoma
Nyana Kakoma

Nyana Kakoma is a Ugandan writer and publisher. She created the online platform Sooo Many Stories (to promote and showcase Ugandan literature) that has since grown into a print publishing house. Before venturing into fiction writing, she worked as a reporter for The New Vision and later joined The Daily Monitor where she worked as a reporter, sub-Editor, and columnist. She also worked as The Group Magazine Editor for Madhvani Group.

She has been published in The Suubi Collection (online publication), The Caine Prize Anthology (2013), Jalada, and The Storymoja blog. Some of her fiction and non-fiction work can be found under her maiden name, Hellen Nyana. She is a member of the Uganda Women Writers Association (Femrite) and one of the founding members of Jalada, a PanAfrican collective of writers.

Mariela Nagle

Mariela Nagle
Mariela Nagle

Mariela Nagle is a consultant, curator and researcher, specialised in picture books and children literature around the world. She runs the international children’s bookstore “mundo azul” in Berlin, Germany. She gives seminars and lectures in schools, universities and social- and cultural institutions in Europe, Latin America and Asia. She has been engaged in different social and cultural programmes since 2007.

Mariela Nagle was a jury member at the Bologna Ragazzi Award (2018) and the National German Children Literature Award (2018). She currently works for Frankfurt Kids (Frankfurt Book Fair), for the State Museums of Berlin as a researcher and curator and for the German government programme 360° focused on diversity in institutions, among other projects.

The two will join me on the LiveStream at 18:00 GMT/ 19:00 WAT/ 20:00 CAT/ 21:00 EAT. If you want to interact with them, you can join the stream on Facebook, YouTube, or Twitter.

One Reply to “Nyana Kakoma, Mariela Nagle for James Murua Literary LiveStream”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.