Awards Zimbabwe

Noviolet Bulawayo on Man Booker Prize shortlist

Noviolet Bulawayo gets the nod.

The Man Booker Prize is one of the biggest in the literary business with winner going home with £50,000. That’s UK pounds. Launched in 1969, the prize aims to promote the finest in fiction by rewarding the best novel by a citizen of the United Kingdom, the Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland. Judges are chosen from a wide range of disciplines, including critics, writers and academics, but also poets, politicians and actors, all with a passion for quality fiction.

Some of the biggest names in English literature have won this prize and they include V. S. Naipaul for his short story In a Free State, Nadine Gordimer for her novel The Conservationist, Salman Rushdie for Midnight’s Children and Ben Okri for The Famished Road. I never finished the last of these books even though I had bought it in the sale section at Kshs300 sadly. That man’s magic realism is more potent that those witch doctors from Pemba as far as I am concerned.

This year’s shortlisted writers for the prize have just been announced and include;

  • We Need New Names by NoViolet Bulawayo (Chatto & Windus)
  • The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton (Granta)
  • The Harvest by Jim Crace (Picador)
  • The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri (Bloomsbury)
  • A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki (Canongate)
  • The Testament of Mary by Colm Tóibín (Penguin)

All the shortlisted authors get a cheque for £2,500 and a designer bound copy of their book and as mentioned the winner goes home with 50,000 UK pounds which isn’t too bad. The winner will be announced on 15 October.

By James Murua

This blog is run by James Murua a Nairobi, Kenya based lover of books.

7 replies on “Noviolet Bulawayo on Man Booker Prize shortlist”

[…] The Man Booker Prize is one of the richest in the world at US$50,000 with the winner being announced on 13th October. Some of the previous African winners of the Man Booker prize include Nadine Gordimer for The Conservationist in 1994, J.M. Koetzee twice for Life & Times of Michael K (1983) and Disgraced (1999) and Ben Okri for The Famished Road (1991). The most recent shortlist of an African at these awards was Noviolet Bulawayo for her book We Need New Names. […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.